December 01, 2002


THAT'S NOBODY'S BUSINESS BUT THE TURKEYS: Patrick Reusse pulled an upset: this year's co-Turkeys of the Year are Timberwolves exec Kevin McHale and coach Flip Saunders. They win the award by virtue of the Wolves' sixth consecutive first-round playoff exit, their misguided decision to re-sign the ineffective Joe Smith, and the years-ago decisions to let free agent Tom Gugliotta go for nothing and to trade Stephon Marbury for the now-injured Terrell Brandon.
It should go without saying that Reusse chickened out by not giving the award to obvious winner Kirby Puckett, though if he had to go the co-winner route, I don't know why he didn't choose the Vikings' Red McCombs and Mike Tice. And besides, the Wolves were right to let Gugliotta go (since he hasn't done anything with Phoenix except almost die from a seizure), and I believe true responsibility for the team's collapse lies with owner Glen Taylor. Better luck next year, Pat.

Posted by Stephen Silver at December 1, 2002 02:40 AM
Post a comment

Remember personal info?