February 12, 2007

Just Call Him Pey

Don McKee in the Inquirer on Sunday had a really, really weird observation:

Not since Terry Bradshaw led the Steelers to their fourth Supe in six years after the 1980 season had a quarterback with a multi-syllable first name started for the winning team.

But Peyton Manning managed to end the run of all those Toms, Troys and Trents.

Starting in 1981, the winning quarterbacks have been:

Jim Plunkett, Joe Montana, Joe Theismann, Plunkett again, Montana again, Jim McMahon, Phil Simms, Doug Williams, Montana twice more in succession, Jeff Hostetler, Mark Rypien, Troy Aikman twice, Steve Young, Aikman again, Brett Favre, John Elway twice, Kurt Warner, Trent Dilfer, Tom Brady, Brad Johnson, Brady twice more and Ben Roethlisberger.

Guess that's bad news for Tarvaris, huh?

Posted by Stephen Silver at February 12, 2007 06:57 PM

Technically, wouldn't at least a couple of those guys be Joseph Montana and Theisman, Phillip Simms, Jeffrey Hostetler, Thomas Brady, etc?

Posted by: Gib at February 12, 2007 07:36 PM
Post a comment

Remember personal info?